Southern Railway depot codes

A (hopefully) comprehensive listing

Last update 20 January 2023

Additional information is always gratefully received, whether entirely new records (particularly historical records) or information to fill in gaps or correct errors, via the contact link under the Miscellaneous entry in the navigation bar above. Thank you.

Please follow these links for:

The Southern Railway gave its depots a code usually consisting of three letters based on the depot name, though a couple of depots had two-character codes.

Code Depot name
AFD Ashford (Kent)
BPL Barnstaple
BAS Basingstoke
BM Bournemouth
BA Bricklayers Arms
BTN Brighton
DOR Dorchester
DOV Dover
EBN Eastbourne
ELH Eastleigh
EXJ Exmouth Junction
FAV Faversham
FEL Feltham
FRA Fratton
GIL Gillingham (Kent)
GFD Guildford
HIT Hither Green
HOR Horsham
NPT Newport (Isle Of Wight)
9E Nine Elms
NOR Norwood
PLY Plymouth
RAM Ramsgate
RDG Reading
RED Redhill
RYD Ryde (Isle Of Wight)
SAL Salisbury
SOT Southampton
STL St Leonards
BAT Stewarts Lane
3B Three Bridges
TON Tonbridge
TWW Tunbridge Wells
WAD Wadebridge
YEO Yeovil